Growing Into My New Role

“Champions aren’t made in gyms. Champions are made from something they have deep inside them a desire, a dream, a vision. They have to have the skill and the will. But the will must be stronger than the skill.” – Muhammad Ali

A Very Big Thank You

I would like to thank my colleagues (you know who you are) for your encouragement and support throughout the application process for the Director of Organizational and Staff Development, here at Mountain View College. Each of you has believed in me and my vision for success.

growingintonewrole-01

My New Role

My new role officially began on July 8, 2016. From that day forward, my life drastically changed as I hit the ground running! The very first day I met with Steve Sosa, Dean of eLearning and Instructional Support, and we started planning for Fall 2016 Return Week. I must confess that I felt a bit overwhelmed at first (like drinking from a fire hose) but knew I made the right decision as we came up with new and creative ways to engage the MVC family.

growingintonewrole-03

Return Week By the Numbers

MVC Return Week

  • 26 Workshops Led by MVC Family Members
  • 2 Major Events (Convocation and Strategic Planning Kickoff)
  • 80 Support Volunteers in Various Roles

DCCCD Conference Day

  • 2,103 Attendees in Total
  • 137 MVC Attendees

DCCCD Part-time Conference Day

  • 250 Attendees in Total
  • 28 MVC Attendees

growingintonewrole-02

Wearing Many Hats

Fall 2016 Return Week, as big as it was, would prove to be just a small part of my overall role. Since that time I’ve also attended training workshops across campus, been involved with the district-wide Professional Development Council, began work on our new monthly newsletter, developed our (un)official Professional Development Communication Plan, met peers across the district, and collaborated on multiple trainings and workshops. In one word…whew! Steve has to remind me at times to make sure that I actually sneak out and take a lunch break since time tends to fly by so fast in my new role!

growingintonewrole-04

Looking to the Future

But wait, there’s more! I’d love the opportunity to meet with departments and discuss the types of training/workshops they would like to see related to future professional development. One major updated we are planning is a complete revamp of both the eLearning and Professional Development websites. We’d like to make sure that the information displayed is updated, relevant to your needs, and brings a little bit of transparency to the process behind the scenes.

Stay tuned for these and many more updates to come. We’re only just getting started!

Leave a Reply

